The Reynolds Girls

The Reynolds Girls Biography

The Reynolds girls were a british vocal duo, comprising Linda (born in 1971) and Aisling (pronounced "Ashling", born in 1973) Reynolds. The sisters were of Irish descent, and grew up in Liverpool. After giving Pete Waterman a demo tape, they were signed to by that time prosperous record label PWL. Their debut single "I'd Rather Jack" was produced by Stock Aitken Waterman, and was released in February 1989. The lyrics were a response to music critics and radio dj:s who ignored the younger pop acts in the UK at the time.

In the UK Singles Chart, "I'd Rather Jack" peaked at number 8 in April 1989, and remained on the chart for 12 weeks. A bit surprising when it used to be the well-known singers (like Rick Astley or Kylie Minogue) who reached such success. The girls were put on Top Of The Pops to perform their hit single, but the next week the song surprisingly went down instead of up, which was quite unusual. Shortly after, they were dropped by the label, probably due to some arguing about the girls' image and role in the production. A second single, "Get Real" was released on the small label "Renotone Limited", but it failed to chart, and the duo split. In the early nineties Linda was singing in a band called "Hype", but they never broke through commercially, or released any records.

Today, "I'd Rather Jack" is often listed as one of the worst pop songs in history. In 2007 "I'd Rather Jack" was voted #53 of "The 100 Most Annoying Pop Songs We Hate To Love", on a BBC3 TV show. In connection to this, Pete Waterman (Hitman), Emma Griffiths (Presenter), Paul Johnstone (Reynolds Girls Fan), Tim Byrne (Manager) and Sally Lindsay (Actor) gave their comments. Paul Johnstone said that "I'd Rather Jack" was Stock Aitken Waterman's protest song against the radio stations; even though their singles ruled the charts, they weren't played on the radio. Tim Byrne thought that Pete Waterman just tried to prove a point, that you could take any two people off the street and have a hit record with them. Regarding the duo's one hit wonder status, Pete Waterman said that you can't get the public to buy something they don't believe in, and The Reynolds Girls, they never believed in. He also claimed that if "I'd Rather Jack" had been given to, for example Mel & Kim, it would have become a number one record.


Some links: Reynolds Girls' Myspace (Fanmade) | Reynolds Girls on Wikipedia | Reynolds Girls Fanpage | Discussion on Popjustice | Website (fanmade)



"I'd Rather Jack" Music Video 1989.

The Reynolds Girls Discography

Audio Samples do not exceed 30 seconds in length.
Music available on itunes(se) itunes(gb) itunes(de) itunes(jp)

7 I'D RATHER JACK
1989-02-13 PWL Records PWL 25 (UK 7" single)

Audio Samples do not exceed 30 seconds in length.

1. I'd Rather Jack (7") (3:30)
2. I'd Rather Jack (Instrumental) (3:30)

12 I'D RATHER JACK
1989 PWL Records PWLT 25 (UK 12" Maxi-Single)

Audio Samples do not exceed 30 seconds in length.

1. I'd Rather Jack (12") (7:24)
2. I'd Rather Jack (Instrumental) (3:30)

Also released in Germany (Sanni Records) and Australia (Liberation Records LMD 619).

12 I'D RATHER JACK
1989 PWL Records PWLT 25R (UK 12" Maxi-Single)

Audio Samples do not exceed 30 seconds in length.

1. I'd Rather Jack (From A Jack To A King Mix) (7:08)
2. I'd Rather Jack (Instrumental) (3:30)

7 I'D RATHER JACK
1989 PWL Records ZB42725 (Europe 7" Single)

Audio Samples do not exceed 30 seconds in length.

1. I'd Rather Jack (Alternative 7" Mix) * (3:32)
2. I'd Rather Jack (Alternative 7" Instrumental) * (3:32)

* Not verified that the Alternative 7" mixes were featured on this particular release.

CD I'D RATHER JACK
1989 TELDEC/PWL PWCD 25 (Germany 3" cd single)

Audio Samples do not exceed 30 seconds in length.

1. I'd Rather Jack (12" version) (7:24)
2. I'd Rather Jack (Alternative 7" Instrumental) (3:30)

CD I'D RATHER JACK
1989 RCA/BMG Ariola ZD 42726 (BeNeLux cd maxi single)

Audio Samples do not exceed 30 seconds in length.

1. I'd Rather Jack (12") (7:24)
2. I'd Rather Jack (Instrumental) (3:30)
3. I'd Rather Jack (Single version) (3:30)

CD I'D RATHER JACK
1989-08-25 Alfa Records 11B3-54 (Japan 3" cd maxi single)

Audio Samples do not exceed 30 seconds in length.

1. I'd Rather Jack (Extended version)
2. I'd Rather Jack (Single version)
3. I'd Rather Jack (Instrumental version)

7 GET REAL
1989 Renotone RENS 001 (UK 7" single)

Audio Samples do not exceed 30 seconds in length.

1. Get Real (7") (3:35)
2. Get Real (Hip House Radio Edit) (7") (4:11)

12 GET REAL
1989 Renotone RENT 001 (UK 12" Maxi single)

Audio Samples do not exceed 30 seconds in length.

1. Get Real (12") (5:24)
2. Get Real (Hip House Radio Edit) (12") (5:17)

MP3 I'D RATHER JACK
2009 PWE (UK itunes digital bundle)

Audio Samples do not exceed 30 seconds in length.

1. I'd Rather Jack (3.31)
2. I'd Rather Jack (Extended Version) (7.26)
3. I'd Rather Jack (From a Jack to a King Mix) (7.08)
4. I'd Rather Jack (Original King Mix) (7.04)
5. I'd Rather Jack (Tony's Jam) (4.30)
6. I'd Rather Jack (Alternative 7'' Mix) (3.31)
7. I'd Rather Jack (7'' Instrumental) (3.31)
8. I'd Rather Jack (Alternative 7'' Instrumental) (3.31)
9. I'd Rather Jack (Backing Track) (3.31)

Tracks 4, 5 and 9 previously unreleased tracks.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0